Technology Insights

Google Calendar – Can Only Share Calendar In See Only Free/Busy (Hide Details) Mode

This morning I was attempting to share one of my Google Apps Google Calendars with my default Gmail account with full access rights however it kept changing the sharing mode from Manage Changes and Manage Sharing to See Only Free/Busy (Hide Details). At first I thought it had to do with the calendar I was sharing too already being shared back to this calendar with lower calendar event rights however after I deleted all traces of the calendar I was still running into the same issue. Turns out the issue was in the Google Apps dashboard for the Google Apps Calendar I was attempting to share to the normal Google account. Below I describe the issue in more detail and what settings need to be modified in the Google Apps dashboard to allow you to share Google Apps Calendars with full admin privileges.