• Home »
  • Errors »
  • iTunes Could Not Back Up The iPhone Because The Backup Was Corrupt

iTunes Could Not Back Up The iPhone Because The Backup Was Corrupt

Earlier when I plugged my iPhone into my laptop via USB to charge it I got a pop up error message stating that the sync process with iTunes could not take place because the iPhone backup was corrupted. I believe yesterday in the middle of syncing with iTunes I had to unplug my iPhone and it must have corrupted the backup that was in process. Fixing this problem is easily accomplished by deleting the backup file that iTunes stores. Below I have more details about the error itself as well as steps on how to resolve the issue.

iTunes Backup Corrupt Error When Syncing iPhone:

iTunes Could Not Backup The iPhone

iPhone Sync Error Text: iTunes could not back up the iPhone “alex iPhone” because the backup was corrupt or not compatible with the iPhone. Delete the backup for this iPhone and then try again.

Resolve Corrupt iPhone Backup Error When Syncing iPhone:

  1. Launch iTunes: If you have not already done so launch iTunes. Once iTunes has finished loading proceed to the next step.
  2. iTunes Preferences: Click on Edit in the top navigation bar of iTunes and select preferences from the drop down menu as shown below.

    iTunes Edit Navigation Menu

    Once you click on Preferences the iTunes Preferences configuration window will open as shown in the below example image.

    iTunes Preferences Configuration Window

  3. iTunes Devices: Once the Preferences configuration window is open click on the Devices tab as shown in the below example image.

    iTunes Devices Preferences

  4. Delete iPhone Backup: Once the Devices preferences window is open click on the iPhone backup in question as shown in the below example image.

    Highlight iPhone Backup In iTunes

    Once the iPhone backup is highlighted click the Delete Backup button which will pop up the below verification window.

    iTunes: Are You Sure You Want To Delete The Backup?

    Click the Delete Backup button to finish the delete process. Once the backup has been deleted the iPhone backups will be empty in iTunes as shown in the below example image.

    iTunes: iPhone Backup Deleted

  5. Sync iPhone: After you have deleted the backup click the OK button to close the iTunes Preferences configuration window. Once closed synchronize your iPhone.

Your iPhone should now sync without issue.


List Price: $19.95 USD
New From: 0 Out of Stock
Used from: Out of Stock


List Price: $49.95 USD
New From: 0 Out of Stock
Used from: Out of Stock

Share